Effective July 1, 2019, new rules and regulation for obtaining copies of vital records will commence. Some of the changes will limit who can/cannot request copies and there will be an application process.
Click here for more information on the various changes.
Birth and Death Certificates
In Vermont, original birth and death records are filed in the town/city where the event took place. Certified copies of these documents are available for a fee of $10.00. Copies can be obtained by contacting the Town Clerk's office at 802-479-9391. To obtain a copy an Application for Certified Copy of Vermont Birth or Death Certificate must be completed and given to the Town Clerk who will then issue the requested certificate.
If you are a Vermont resident and wish to marry in Vermont you must purchase your marriage license in the Town in which one of the parties lives. If both parties live out of state the license can be purchased from any Vermont Town Clerk. To obtain a license both individuals must complete and sign the marriage worksheet which will be given to the Town Clerk who will then issue the license.
By law, you must deliver the license to the person who will conduct your wedding ceremony before the marriage can be performed. The officiate (person who performs the ceremony) will complete their section of the original marriage license and return the certificate to the Town Clerk’s office where it was issued within 10 days after the wedding. Once the marriage license is recorded a certified copy of your license will be mailed to the address listed on the worksheet at the time of purchase.
Wedding ceremonies can be performed by a supreme court justice, a superior court judge, a district judge, a judge of probate, an assistant judge, a justice of the peace or an ordained or licensed member of the clergy residing in Vermont. Vermont law does not require witnesses. If you would like someone who does not fit into one of these categories the Vermont Secretary of State's Office does issue a temporary officiant license.
The cost of the license is $60.00. If you require a certified copy there is an additional fee of $10.00.
The Vermont Secretary of State’s Office is pleased to announce a new online Temporary Officiant Registration Portal. Users can navigate to the portal by clicking the “Temporary Officiant” link at the top of every page of the Vermont Secretary of State Website.
The new portal provides applicants with 24/7 online registration service. The full application process may be completed online, or applications can be printed and mailed. The portal provides additional pertinent information and links for temporary officiants, including a guide to completing the Vermont Department of Health Civil Marriage Certificate.